King Kohli Ruling World Cricket like a Boss, ‍Becomes First Player to bag Top 3 ICC Awards in a Single Year

Get Daily Updates In Email

King Kohli Ruling World Cricket like a Boss, ‍Becomes First Player to bag Top 3 ICC Awards in a Single Year

Indian Cricket team captain Virat Kohli just a few months ago set the record of remarkable 10,000 runs but that is not our captain’s limit, he believes in touching the peak again and again.

Recently, Kohli has been ranked the first player to win three major ICC awards including Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC cricket of the year, the ICC men’s test player of the year, the ICC ODI player of the year achieving all consecutively in a year.

The Indian milestone scored 1322 runs with an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests which includes 5 centuries, whereas in 14 ODIs he scored 1202 runs with an average of 133.55 including 6 centuries, while his performance in T20 is also commendable including 211 runs in 10 T20’s.

The ICC CEO, David Richardson went on applauding Kohli and said, “Sincere congratulations to every one of our individual winners and those players named in our ICC Test and ODI teams of the year. Special mention must go to Virat Kohli, who becomes the first ever player to win the Sir Garfield Sobers award along with Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year and be named as captain of both teams.”

Kohli on this achievement said, “It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game.”

“To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing consistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation.”

While not just Kohli, the left-handed Rishabh Pant received the Emerging player of the year award and Smriti Mandhana bagged the ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the year award along with Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

See, how Twitter users are reacting for India’s achievements and Kohli’s tremendous performance over the past year.

Kudos to Indian Cricket team…

Published by Shifa Naz on 22 Jan 2019

You Might Also Like