List Of Countries Where LGBT Is Legal

Get Daily Updates In Email

List Of Countries Where LGBT Is Legal

Activists and members of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community celebrated across India on Thursday, after the court removed a ban on gay sex.

Image result for LGBT

image source

Gay sex is considered taboo by many in socially conservative India, as well as in neighbouring Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. It was reinstated as a criminal offense in India in 2013, punishable up to 10 years in prison, after four years of decriminalization.

Image result for LGBT

image source

“Any consensual sexual relationship between two consenting adults – homosexuals, heterosexuals or lesbians – cannot be said to be unconstitutional,” said the Chief Justice of India, Dipak Misra, as he read out the judgment.

“I’m so excited, I have no words,” said Debottam Saha, one of the petitioners in the case.

“We are no longer criminals, (but) it will take time to change things on the ground – 20 to 30 years, maybe,” said Saha.

“The Bangladeshi LGBT community has gained moral support,” said Shahanur Islam, executive director of the Bangladesh Institute for Human Rights.

“We hope and will make sure that other countries will follow suit in overturning this remnant from colonial law,” said Mani Aq of the Pakistani branch of the Naz Foundation.

Image result for LGBT

image source

Australia could soon become the 23rd country in the world to legalise gay marriage. The country is in the midst of a non-binding postal vote on the issue, which will conclude on November 7. A survey published in a newspaper this week found that 59% of those who had returned their ballots backed the move while 38% were against it.

Here is a list of 10 countries where LGBT is legal:

2005- Canada

2005- Spain

2006- South Africa


2010- Iceland



2013 -New Zealand

2013-14- United Kingdom

2015- United States

Here is a list of countries where LGBT is legal too:

2000- Netherlands

2003- Belgium

2013- Uruguay

2017- Malta

2014 – Luxembourg


2015- Ireland

2016- Colombia

2017- Germany


2009- Mexico


2013- France

2013- Brazil

Published by Minal Gupta on 07 Sep 2018

You Might Also Like